post Presents: Decentering the Museum?

On May 1, post presented a roundtable discussion focused on international networks that decenter, complicate, or even bypass Western-centric models. Panelists Geeta Kapur, Joanna Mytkowska, Chika Okeke-Agulu, and Irene Small speak with Kathy Halbriech about how Western institutions can address art outside of their own contexts.

Kathy Halbreich is associate director and Laurenz Foundation Curator at The Museum of Modern Art. Geeta Kapur is a New Delhi-based critic and curator and the author of a number of widely anthologized essays on contemporary art, cultural theory, and curatorial initiatives across the global South. Joanna Mytkowska is a curator, art critic, co-founder of the Foksal Gallery Foundation, and director of the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw. Chika Okeke-Agulu is associate professor of African and African Diaspora Art in the Department of Art and Archaeology at Princeton University and the author of Postcolonial Modernism: Art and Decolonization in Twentieth-Century Nigeria. Irene Small is assistant professor of Modern and Contemporary Art in the Department of Art and Archaeology at Princeton University and the author of Héllo Oiticica: Folding the Frame.

More in this theme

Challenging the Global: C-MAP Experts Respond

During 2016 and 2017, more than 80 scholars, artists, and curators visited MoMA as C-MAP guests. n conjunction with the 5 Questions interview series, we asked them a sixth question: How can MoMA better approach international artistic production and exchange?

Subscribe to our newsletter

Related Content

El Lento Desvanecimiento: Huellas, Conversaciones y Políticas de la Localización

La serie de seminarios C-MAP de este año, Transversal Orientations, estuvo compuesta por cuatro mesas que tuvieron lugar en Zoom en junio de 2021. Con este texto, Dra. Riánsares Lozano de la Pola responde a las presentaciones y a la conversación posterior que tuvieron lugar en la cuarta y última mesa de la serie de seminarios con Jeannine Tang, Jaanus Samma, e Irmgard Emmelhainz.